Skip to content

Five Questions for the Author

September 10, 2012

1. When did you first start writing?

Freshman year in college. Like many male writers my age I imitated Hemingway. Boy, the stuff I wrote was horrible. I’m pretty sure I threw out all that early writing. For awhile I thought I could be a poet, but it turned out that the poetry I was writing was even worse than the imitation Hemingway.

2. Why did you become a journalist?

True story: My first major in college was meteorology. I’d wanted to be a weatherman since I was 12. But I was horrible at math, and before I could take Intro to Physics I would have to take a course called something like Advanced Nuclear Calculus. I knew I couldn’t pass that, since I barely scraped by with basic freshman arithmetic. I was becoming more interested in writing, cognizant of the fact that I could not earn money as a poet or writer of imitation-Hemingway short stories, so I decided to major in journalism. If I got my degree and then a job, I knew I’d be paid for every word I wrote.

3. Who are some of the writers you admire?

In no particular order: Graham Greene, Ward Just, Paul Thereoux, W. Somerset Maugham, Alan Furst, James Jones, Jimmy Breslin, William Faulkner, S.J. Perelman, James Thurber, John Fante, Paul Bowles, Kilgore Trout.

4. What book do you regret never finishing reading?

“How You Doin’?” by Kilgore Trout.

5.  What writer have you enjoyed reading that a lot of people probably never heard about?

R.F. Delderfield.

From → Verbiage

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

