Skip to content

I Need a Good Tune

September 12, 2012

Although I’m a morning person I write in the afternoons. I don’t know why this is so, since I had to write plenty of stories, columns, editorials and features in the morning during my long career as a journalist.

Writing a novel is more draining than writing a story about a fire or political speech or a feature about the Pork Queen (I actually had to do that for a newspaper) and when day is done, and I’m still sitting in my chair, I need a pick-me-up. Something other than booze, of which I have my share later in the evening.

I need music. Nothing slow, nothing mournful. It has to be lively. I need to tap my feet and then play the song again if it was especially conducive to foot tapping. Following are a few of the songs that make my feet move as if I wore socks made out of hot briquets:

  • “Hello Lola” by the Mound City Blue Blowers
  • “Dippermouth Blues” by Louis Armstrong
  • “At the Jazz Band Ball” by Bix Beiderbecke
  • “Boodle-Am Shake” by the Dixieland Jug Blowers
  • “Hot Rod Lincoln” by Commander Cody and His Lost Planet Airmen
  • “Tighten Up” by Archie Bell and the Drells
  • “Get a Job” by The Silhouettes

And here’s one that you don’t hear much about anymore:

  • “Does Your Chewing Gum Lose its Flavor (On the Bedpost Overnight),” the Lonnie Donegan version

OK, feet. Start tapping.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

