Skip to content

Autumnal Reading

September 27, 2012

I read all year long, of course, but during the autumn I fall (get it?) into a routine of rereading certain authors. I don’t know why this is.

The works of some authors probably lend themselves to reading when the days grow colder and darker, just as some are better read during the summer. I try to reread Hemingway’s “A Moveable Feast,” Fitzgerald’s “The Great Gatsby” and “The Pistol” by James Jones from June to August.

Another reason for seasonal reading is that I first read my chosen books during the summer or fall when  I was young, and have memories of how much I enjoyed them. Quirky, I know, because a good book can be reread any time of the year.

Herewith, my autumn reading:

  • Fyodor Dostoevsky: “The Gambler” (short story)
  • Ward Just: Portions of his novels “Jack Gance” and “Echo House”
  • Paul Theroux: “The Black House”
  • Alan Furst: “The Polish Officer”
  • Graham Greene: “The End of the Affair” and his short-story “A Branch of the Service”
  • Irwin Shaw: “Acceptable Losses”
  • Ian Fleming: Portions of “On Her Majesty’s Secret Service” (I first read this when I was 15)

Quite a mix of genres, but I’ve never pigeonholed myself as a reader. You have nothing to gain by limiting your interests.

From → Verbiage

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

